The WISE Awards

2011 WISE Awards

2011 WISE Awards

2011 WISE Awards

The six winning projects were selected for their innovative approaches and positive impact upon societies and education, under the theme of Transforming Education: Investment, Innovation and Inclusion.

The 2011 Jury’s choices highlight the growing significance of sharing knowledge through new information and communication technologies. Three of the winning projects provide wide access to materials and tools for teaching and learning through open source platforms. Dynamic inter-sectoral partnerships and innovative approaches to teaching through problem-solving and creative thinking are also represented in the Jury’s selection. 
For the first time, a project from the Arab World, School-Business Partnerships, based in Morocco, was welcomed into the Awards community. Also, an initiative dedicated to children with disabilities was chosen among the winning projects, highlighting the value of inclusiveness towards communities of learners with special needs. 

Winning Projects 

BBC Janala

OpenStax CNX

Creative Partnerships

School-Business Partnerships


Teacher Education in Sub Saharan
Africa (TESSA)




H.E. Sheikh Adbullah bin Ali Al-Thani, Ph.D.,
Dr Abdul Waheed Khan
Dr Abdul Waheed Khan,
Prof. Lidia Brito
Prof. Lidia Brito,
Mr. Rodrigo Baggio
Mr Rodrigo Baggio,
Prof. Asha Singh Kanwar
Prof. Asha Singh Kanwar,
Mr Esko Aho
Mr Esko Aho,
Ms Linda Koch Lorimer
Ms Linda Koch Lorimer,



  • Mrs Christina Akrivou: Quality Manager, AUF, France
  • Mr. Haif Bannayan: Chief Executive Officer and board member, Jordan Education Initiative Company,          Jordan
  • Mr. Ahlin Byll-CatariaExecutive Secretary, Association for the Development of Education in Africa, African   Development Bank, Tunisia
  • Dr. Sven Caspersen: Former President of IAUP, former Rector of the Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Mrs Vicky Colbert: Founder and Director of Fondación Escuela Nueva and 2009 WISE Award winner,    Colombia
  • Mr. Mourad Ezzine: Education Sector Manager MENA, World Bank, USA
  • Mr. Reinhard Fichtl: Head of Education & Child Protection, UBS Optimus Foundation, Switzerland
  • Ms Lucia Fry: Policy Advisor to the Global Campaign for Education, USA
  • Mrs Dorothy Garland: Director, Professional Networks, former Deputy Secretary General, ACU, UK
  • Dr. Charles Goldman: Senior Economist, RAND, USA
  • Dr. Pedro Hepp: President TIDE S.A, Chile
  • Mr. Oystein Johannessen: Chief Strategy Officer, Cerpus, former Deputy Director General of the Norwegian  Ministry of Education and Research, Norway
  • Prof. Clifford Nii Boi Tagoe: Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Ghana, Ghana
  • Ms Trish Tierney: Executive Director, Institute of International Education West Coast Center, USA
  • Dr. Stephen Joel Trachtenberg: President Emeritus and University Professor at George Washington  University, former reviewer for the Rhodes Scholarships, USA