جائزة وايز للتعليم


السير فاضل حسن عابد

المنصب: مؤسس ورئيس مجلس إدارة of منظمة براك
البلد: بنغلاديش

ولد السير فاضل حسن عابد في عام 1936، وأكمل دراسته الثانوية في دكّا، ثم غادرها لمتابعة الدراسة في جامعة غلاسكو. تدرب كمحاسب إداري في لندن، وعاد إلى وطنه ليصبح رئيس القسم المالي في شركة شل للنفط.

رجع إلى المملكة المتحدة أثناء حرب استقلال بنغلادش عن باكستان في عام 1971، و عمل من هناك في مجموعات الضغط وجمع الأموال لدعم نضال بلاده. وبعد انتهاء الصراع وجد بلاده المولودة حديثًا في حالة خراب. عندئذ أسس لجنة بنغلادش للنهوض بالريف (براك) مستخدمًا مدخراته الشخصية، وأطلق حملة طويلة الأمد لتحسين مستوى المعيشة تستند على تعليم فقراء الريف، وقد وصلت حاليًا إلى نحو 140 مليون إنسان في تسع دول.

توسعت براك طوال أكثر من 40 عامًا لتصبح واحدة من أكبر مقدمي خدمات التعليم غير الحكومية في العالم، حيث ساهمت بصورة مباشرة في تعليم أكثر من 10 مليون طالب من مختلف المستويات. وهي تولي عناية خاصة بتوفير التعليم للأطفال واليافعين ممن لم يشملهم نظام التعليم التقليدي.

وثمّة نحو 75,000 طفل (70 في المئة منهم فتيات) مسجلون حاليّاً في 25,000 مدرسة ابتدائية تابعة لبراك في بنغلاديش. ومن الملاحظ أن معدلات النجاح في هذه المدارس أعلى بشكل ملموس منها في المدارس الابتدائية الرسمية، وقلّما يتخلف أحد منهم عن الالتحاق بالمدارس الثانوية. وقد وسعت براك نشاطها في مجال التعليم قبل الابتدائيّ وبعده وفي مجال التعليم المستمر، كما أنشأت مركز تنمية خاص بالفتيات المراهقات.

والجدير بالذكر أن السير فاضل حسن عابد هو أول الفائزين بجائزة وايز للتعليم عن عام 2011.

The WISE Prize for Education


Sir Fazle Hasan Abed

Position: Founder and Chairperson of BRAC
Country: Bangladesh
Born in 1936, Sir Fazle Hasan Abed completed his secondary education in Dhaka and went on to study at the University of Glasgow. He trained as a management accountant in London and came back to his homeland to eventually lead the finance division of Shell Oil Company there. 

He returned to the UK during the 1971 Bangladesh war of independence from Pakistan where he lobbied and raised funds for his country’s struggle.  After the conflict he found the newly born country in ruins. It was then that, using his own savings, he established the Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC) and launched a lifelong campaign to improve lives by educating the rural poor, now reaching nearly 140 million people in nine countries.

Over more than 40 years BRAC has become one of the largest non-government providers of education in the world and has contributed directly to the education of more than 10 million students at a variety of levels. BRAC concentrates on bringing education to children and young people who are not reached by the traditional education system. 

Currently, around 750,000 children – 70 per cent of them girls – are enrolled in 25,000 BRAC primary schools in Bangladesh. Pass rates are significantly higher than in the formal primary schools system and virtually all go on to learn in secondary schools. BRAC has expanded its work to pre-primary education, post-primary and continuing education, and has established an adolescent development center for girls. 

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed was the first Laureate of the WISE Prize for Education in 2011.