جائزة وايز للتعليم


الدكتور ستيفانوس جيالاماس

المنصب: رئيس المدارس المجتمعية الأمريكية في أثينا
البلد: اليونان
شغل الدكتور ستيفانوس جيالاماس منذ عشر سنوات منصب رئيس مدارس المجتمع الأمريكية في أثينا باليونان. وهو حائز على بكالوريوس في الرياضيات/الفيزياء، وماجستير في الإحصاء، وماجستير في الرياضيات، ودكتوراه في الرياضيات (نظرية العقد). وقد شغل سابقًا منصب وكيل الكلية الأمريكية في تسالونيك باليونان. كما شغل لعدة سنوات منصب عميد قسم تطوير القيادة الأكاديمية، وتطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس، وعميد برامج الرياضيات والعلوم لدى المكتب المشترك لجامعة ديفراي في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. ودرَّس الرياضيات والكمبيوتر والإدارة والقيادة لطلاب الدراسات العليا والمرحلة الجامعية الأولى في جامعات كانساس وويسكونسن وإيلينوي واليونان.

أجرى الدكتور ستيفانوس أثناء مسيرته المهنية بحوثًا عديدة في مجال تطوير القيادة، وتطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس، والمقاربات المبتكرة في مجال التدريس والتعلم، ونظرية العقد، والرياضيات والفنون، وتاريخ الرياضيات وفلسفتها وتعليمها. كما نشر أكثر من 100 مقال باللغتين الإنجليزية واليونانية، فضلًا عن ثلاثة كتب، وقصة للأطفال، وكتيبات إرشادية عديدة أخرى.
وإستجابة للإصلاح التعليمي العالمي، قام الدكتور جيالاماس بوضع نموذجاً جديداً للتعليم وهو النموذج العالمي للتغلغل الذي تم تنفيذه في مدارس المجتمع الأمريكي في أثينا، اليونان، على مدى العقد الماضي. يتكون هذا النموذج الديناميكي من ثلاثة عناصر لا يمكن فصلها، مترابطة، ومترابطة: فلسفة التربية من مورفوسيس (Μορφωση)، ومنهجية i2Flex) ) ، نهج أريستيا  (Αριστεια) للقيادة.
في عام 2016، تم نشر كتاب يعكس نموذج ((gMp مع الكتور جيالاماس كمحرر مشارك تحت عنوان " ثورة التعليم المختلط في فصول K-12 "
تحت قيادته في عامي 2007 و 2016 تلقت مدارس المجتمع الأمريكي في أثينا إعادة الإعتماد من رابطة الدول الوسطى للكليات و المدارس في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. كما قام رئيس الرابطة في 2016 بالإشادة بمدارس المجتمع الأمريكي في أثينا "بأنها واحدة من المدارس الأعلى أداء لدينا".

في أغسطس 2016 تم نشر قصه في غلاف شركاء الأعمال بعنوان" مدارس المجتمع الأمريكي في أثينا نموذج التعليم في القرن 21" .
لقد عمل الدكتور جيامالاس في سنة 2015 و 2016 كعضو من أعضاء فريق لاختيار علماء شوارتزمان، وهو برنامج ماجستير انتقائي للغاية في جامعة تسينغهوا في بكين.
وقد تم اختيار الدكتور جيامالاس للإنضمام إلى لجنة جائزة وايز للتعليم منذ سنه 2013، وهذه اللجنة مسؤوله عن الإختيار من بين مئات من المرشحين مجموعة معينة تذهب للتصفيات النهائية.    
تلقى الدكتور ستيفانوس جوائز في القيادة والتعليم من منظماتٍ ومؤسسات اجتماعية وأكاديمية متنوعة مثل الجمعية الأمريكية لإداريي الجامعات، والمعهد الدولي لتطوير العامل البشري، والمجلس اليوناني للتعليم، وجامعة إنديانابوليس، وجامعة أثينا، وجامعة ويسكونسن، وكولومبيا كوليدج شيكاغو، ومعهد إيلينوي للفنون، وجامعة ديفراي، وشركة بيرسن للتعليم.

The WISE Prize for Education


Dr. Stefanos Gialamas

Position: President, American Community Schools of Athens
Country: Greece

Dr. Stefanos Gialamas has been the President of the American Community Schools of Athens, in Greece, for twelve years. He holds advanced degrees in mathematics, physics and statistics, including a PhD in mathematics (knot theory). Prior to ACS Athens, he served as the Provost of the American College of Thessaloniki (ACT), Greece. He has taught graduate and undergraduate mathematics, management and leadership courses at universities in Kansas, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Greece.

His professional work includes research in Leadership Development, Faculty Development, Innovative Approaches in Teaching and Learning, Knot Theory, Mathematics and Arts, the History and Philosophy of Mathematics, and Mathematics Education. He has published more than 100 articles in both English and Greek, several books, essays, and articles.

In response to the global educational reform he has developed a new education paradigm, the Global Morfosis paradigm that has been implemented it at the American Community Schools of Athens, Greece for the past decade. This dynamic paradigm consists of three inseparable, interconnected, and interrelated components: the Educational Philosophy of Morfosis (Μορφωση), the i2Flex Delivery Methodology, and the Aristeia (Αριστεια) Leadership Approach.

A book reflecting the gMp paradigm with Dr. Gialamas as its co-editor it was published in 2016 under the title “Revolutionizing K-12 Blended Learning through the i2 Flex Classroom Model “.

Under his leadership, in 2007 and 2016 ACS Athens received re-accreditations from the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA), USA. In 2016 the President of MSA calls ACS Athens “one of our highest performing schools”.

On August 2016 he was featured in a cover story titled :“ACS Athens modelling Education For the 21st Century” at the Business Partners Magazine. In August 2014, he was featured in a cover story, “Shifting Mindsets: ACS Athens” in Business Partners Magazine.

In 2015, and 2016 Dr. Gialamas was invited to serve with panellists to select the Schwartzman Scholars, a highly selective, one-year Masters program at Tsinghua University in Beijing.

On April 2013, her Highness Sheikha Moza Bin Nasser, Chairperson of the Qatar Foundation, selected Dr. Gialamas to join the Committee of the International Prize for Education. He was re-appointed on the same committee on April 2014, February 2015, and January 2017. This Committee is responsible to select among hundreds of nominees with most significant contribution to education the finalists. The Laureate receives an award of $500,000 and a gold medal.

Dr. Gialamas has received leadership and educational awards from diverse academic and organizations including the American Association of University Administrators, the International Institute for Human Factor Development, the Chairs Academy, the Hellenic Council of Education, the University of Indianapolis - Athens Campus, University of Wisconsin, Columbia College Chicago, Illinois Institute of Art, DeVry University, and Pearson Education.